The Very Hungry Caterpillar Craft Kit Review & Giveaway

The kids and I are big fans of The Hungry Caterpillar, in fact the book is one of our regular bedtime stories. When we read it the kids know every single line by heart. I have always loved the stories and characters created by Eric Carle as they were part of my childhood too.

We were recently sent some of The Hungry Caterpillar craft kits by Rainbow Designs to review. The lovely people at Rainbow Designs have also offered us an identical set to giveaway to one of our lovely readers too.

We were sent the Very Hungry Caterpillar Super Dough Caterpillar and the 3D Cardboard Character set. There are also other kits available in The Very Hungry Caterpillar range.

It’s always fun when we get to sit down all together to do some crafts. Most of the time we go freestyle with our crafting sessions but sometimes it’s nice to do some guided activities too.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Super Dough CaterpillarΒ 

Jake and I did the Super Dough Caterpillar together. Upon opening the kit I was immediately impressed with how everything had been packaged and presented. I could tell immediately that this activity had been well thought and made super simple for little hands. The instructions for making the caterpillar are detailed and really easy to follow.

I’m also really impressed that the dough although air-drying is fully re-useable.

Jake loved the texture of the dough he had lots of fun squashing it before we began. With a little help from Mummy he rolled some balls that would make up the caterpillars body. He particularly liked making the little legs and eyes and he could easily use the red tool that is included in the kit.

Once the caterpillar was finished I helped him make a little red apple. He played for a little while pretending to feed the apple to his caterpillar.

Here he is looking super proud of his creation.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar 3D Cardboard Character Kit

I knew Daisy would absolutely love this. She loves crafting and creating and this kit had everything she needed to make some colourful characters.

The kit contains four iconic Eric Carle characters.

I was really impressed that each of the characters came separately wrapped with their own little set of decorations. There are suggestions on the box of how to colour and decorate the characters but the little things included like pom poms and pipe cleaners encourage creative imagination.

The characters are made of really quality thick cardboard and the felt pens included were of really good quality too. I think that’s what I’m most impressed with, the quality of both kits is outstanding.

Daisy chose the caterpillar and Jake chose the Elephant and they both busy with the felts.

 

Both Daisy and Jake loved sticking the colourful pom poms and shapes onto their characters. Daisy was super excited as the kit contained a silver glitter glue, she’s obsessed with the stuff.

As you can see we had lots of fun with both of the kits.Β If you want to win a set of these wonderful products for your kids you can enter the giveaway below. Make sure you read the terms and conditions too. Best of luck with your entry.

Terms & Conditions

  • Open to UK entries only.
  • The Closing date is 14.07.2017.
  • The prize is a Very Hungry Caterpillar 3D Cardboard Character Kit & Super Dough Caterpillar Kit.
  • The winner will be selected at random from all valid entries and contacted by email.
  • The winner has 28 days to respond failure to do so will result in a new winner being selected.
  • There is one mandatory method of entry all other methods are optional.

Rainbow Designs The Very Hungry Caterpillar Craft Kits Giveaway

Disclosure: We received the craft kits free for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

This post contains an affiliate link.

0 Shares

151 Comments

  1. Tracy K Nixon
    June 23rd 2017 / 2:26 PM

    Salad and veg – as I would want to eat healthily so I could transform into a beautiful butterfly!

  2. Spencer Broadley
    June 23rd 2017 / 3:29 PM

    I love my salads but most of all I would have to go for tomatoes

  3. Sue McCarthy
    June 23rd 2017 / 4:04 PM

    Pizza and rose wine – my favourite meal!

  4. Kim Neville
    June 23rd 2017 / 4:39 PM

    Spinach, strawberries and praline chocolate as a nice combination

  5. sarah rees
    June 23rd 2017 / 5:07 PM

    i would eat through a nice roast dinner

  6. Danielle Pooley
    June 23rd 2017 / 5:24 PM

    Would have to be watermelon, I could eat loads of that!

  7. andrea tinkler
    June 23rd 2017 / 5:45 PM

    Oh strawberries, melon and cream…yummy

  8. MARK THOMAS
    June 23rd 2017 / 5:50 PM

    Apples, and bananas . Delicious and good for me .

  9. Lyndsey
    June 23rd 2017 / 5:52 PM

    mushrooms – i love them

  10. Andrea Fletcher
    June 23rd 2017 / 6:53 PM

    Raspberries and cherries.

  11. Jennifer Wlodyka
    June 23rd 2017 / 7:35 PM

    Cupcakes and chocolate

  12. Margaret GALLAGHER
    June 23rd 2017 / 8:39 PM

    Mini quiche cheese strings and the obligatory lettuce with a teeny bit of chocolate

  13. emma walters
    June 23rd 2017 / 8:43 PM

    a mountain of ice cream

  14. Ms Suan Watts
    June 23rd 2017 / 9:25 PM

    Strawberries and raspberries are my favourites

  15. Solange
    June 23rd 2017 / 9:57 PM

    Pizza because I love it.

  16. Anthony Harrington
    June 23rd 2017 / 9:59 PM

    chocolate and cheese because they are my favs!

  17. Catherine McAlinden
    June 24th 2017 / 7:01 AM

    I’d munch through pizza, my favourite food!

  18. Catherine Stewart
    June 24th 2017 / 10:31 AM

    Lots of chocolate!

  19. Ursula Hunt
    June 24th 2017 / 11:06 AM

    I would munch through a raspberry bush, my favourite fruit of all time

  20. Lorna Ledger
    June 24th 2017 / 11:41 AM

    oooh crikey! A big meat feast pizza, because it’s probably my fav! And I could grow bigger from eating it

  21. Lucinda Fortune
    June 24th 2017 / 7:34 PM

    It would have to be clotted cream and jam scones because the are the yummiest thing ever!

  22. June 24th 2017 / 10:24 PM

    Chocolate and Ben & jerrys ice cream.. I’d be the really fat caterpillar..

  23. Natalie Crossan
    June 24th 2017 / 11:56 PM

    Chips. I just love chips xx

  24. Ailsa
    June 25th 2017 / 5:46 AM

    Pizza. I could eat it all day

  25. Rachel
    June 25th 2017 / 8:00 AM

    I’d munch through a plate of spaghetti because as a caterpillar that would be a bit like an obstacle course!

  26. Hali Kinson
    June 25th 2017 / 8:07 AM

    I would munch through skips the crisps as they are my fave

  27. Tanya camilleri
    June 25th 2017 / 10:26 AM

    Chocolate cake! Mmm

  28. ashleigh allan
    June 25th 2017 / 10:46 AM

    Chocolate – my favourite food!

  29. STACY SORRELL
    June 25th 2017 / 6:56 PM

    CHOCOLATE CAKE – who wouldnt πŸ™‚ my absolute fave desert, yummy

  30. Kay Sherman
    June 26th 2017 / 9:05 PM

    Cookies ice cream and chocolate

  31. Tee Simpson
    June 26th 2017 / 10:54 PM

    Chocolate cake as its my favourite treat

  32. Louise king
    June 26th 2017 / 11:34 PM

    Millies cookies and as i would feel guily a nice freah fruit salad with lots of strawberries.

  33. Karen Barrett
    June 27th 2017 / 5:16 PM

    Mango, it reminds me of Australia

  34. Rachel Butterworth
    June 27th 2017 / 5:20 PM

    Chocolate. The sugar would give me energy to eat more chocolate.

  35. Sally Collingwood
    June 28th 2017 / 10:23 AM

    Jelly and ice cream because I love it.

  36. June 28th 2017 / 1:21 PM

    A big Bar of chocolate!!! Because I am addicted to chocolate

  37. Tasha
    June 28th 2017 / 8:39 PM

    A giant bar of chocolate

  38. ELZBIETA ZNYK
    June 29th 2017 / 7:39 AM

    Cheese because is very yummy.

  39. Rebecca Cusick
    June 29th 2017 / 8:11 AM

    A giant bacon lettuce and tomato sandwich because I love a good sandwich!

  40. kimberley ryan
    June 29th 2017 / 10:20 AM

    chocolate, I don’t think as a caterpillar I could still resist a nibble πŸ˜‰

  41. Leila Benhamida
    June 30th 2017 / 12:35 AM

    Yoghurt to keep the good bacteria a life :0)

  42. Helen Humphries
    June 30th 2017 / 2:05 PM

    Strawberries! Because they are soft, sweet & juicy.

  43. Claire W
    June 30th 2017 / 9:33 PM

    A nice ripe banana to give me lots of energy πŸ™‚

  44. EJ Dunn
    July 1st 2017 / 11:42 AM

    Hash browns because that’s what I’m craving during my pregnancy!

  45. Lynn Neal
    July 1st 2017 / 11:33 PM

    I would munch my way through rice cakes because I love them at the moment!

  46. Kim Styles
    July 2nd 2017 / 3:18 PM

    a whole bag of raw peas in the pod because I adore them !

  47. michelle speight
    July 2nd 2017 / 6:22 PM

    pasta as i need it for energy get me thru my night shift lol

  48. Stevie
    July 3rd 2017 / 12:18 PM

    I’d munch on buttercups.

  49. Deborah Mackenzie
    July 3rd 2017 / 5:45 PM

    Pizza! Just cant have enough of it as there are so many different ones to try.

  50. lorraine polley
    July 3rd 2017 / 8:48 PM

    would munch on cheese, love all cheeses, they are yummy, forget the green stuff

  51. Jackie Dawson
    July 5th 2017 / 4:52 PM

    Would have to be a nice curry! its my guilty pleasure.

  52. Carly Belsey
    July 5th 2017 / 7:49 PM

    Chocolate and strawberries as they are my two favourite foods. πŸ™‚

  53. Joanne Hutchings
    July 5th 2017 / 9:10 PM

    Chocolate – because it would make me a very happy caterpillar!

  54. Jemma Dwyer
    July 5th 2017 / 10:52 PM

    toffee crumble i love it πŸ˜€

  55. Emilie Curry
    July 6th 2017 / 9:29 AM

    Chocolate! Because it’s the best thing every created!!

  56. Fiona
    July 6th 2017 / 7:42 PM

    Cheese and crisps. Why not πŸ˜‰

  57. Rachel Craig
    July 6th 2017 / 7:46 PM

    Apple and other fruits, delicious!

  58. Ashleigh Ryan
    July 6th 2017 / 8:13 PM

    Gold bars – I’m addicted to them at the moment!

  59. Lucy Major
    July 6th 2017 / 9:08 PM

    Chocolate!!

  60. Lorraine Tinsley
    July 6th 2017 / 9:47 PM

    Magnum ice cream lollies

  61. Sidrah Ahmed
    July 6th 2017 / 10:04 PM

    Chicken pizza its one of my favourite

  62. Sarah Mackay
    July 6th 2017 / 10:13 PM

    Crumpets as i am addicted to them

  63. Alana Walker
    July 6th 2017 / 10:16 PM

    Terry’s Chocolate Orange as I simply cannot resist!x

  64. Catia Rodrigues
    July 6th 2017 / 11:27 PM

    Lime cheesecake…because it’s delicious πŸ™‚

  65. Zoe C
    July 6th 2017 / 11:40 PM

    Raspberries

  66. Caroline H
    July 7th 2017 / 12:09 AM

    Melon. It is my absolute favourite fruit and when they are in season and the prices are good in the supermarket I go a little mad. I’m not sure half a melon and nothing else for lunch is “nutrionally balanced”!

  67. leanne weir
    July 7th 2017 / 12:33 AM

    Has to be chocolate cake

  68. Becky Yeomans
    July 7th 2017 / 7:49 AM

    Chips! I really really love chips fat or thin I could live off them if I could!

  69. stuart hargreaves
    July 7th 2017 / 8:06 AM

    CHEESECAKE – ESPECIALLY BLUEBERRY

  70. Helen Tovell
    July 7th 2017 / 10:26 AM

    Crisps as they are my favourite naughty nibble

  71. Jo Carroll
    July 7th 2017 / 11:04 AM

    ‘Brussels Sprouts’…as I’m always telling my little man – you have to eat your greens if you want to grow up big and strong…plus I actually really love them πŸ˜‰ x

  72. Karen Early
    July 7th 2017 / 12:40 PM

    Strawberries and water melon

  73. Heather Hibbert
    July 7th 2017 / 2:31 PM

    Cherries, they’re the best thing ever

  74. Sarah Rees
    July 7th 2017 / 6:17 PM

    A nice crispy salad with lots of tomatos

  75. July 7th 2017 / 6:52 PM

    I would go for some lettuce as i just love it!!!

  76. jen jackson
    July 7th 2017 / 10:50 PM

    cucumber – i love it

  77. Nicki simpson
    July 8th 2017 / 4:03 AM

    A doughnut peach since I am now obsessed eight them

  78. Inga Andersen
    July 8th 2017 / 7:55 PM

    At this time of the year it would be sweet ripe starwberries, delicious and juicy πŸ™‚

  79. Rebecca Duncan
    July 8th 2017 / 8:37 PM

    Cheese!!!

  80. Serena Harding
    July 8th 2017 / 9:30 PM

    Chocolate and pretzels

  81. Jules Eley
    July 8th 2017 / 9:32 PM

    watermelon because it is just so juicy!

  82. zoe brown
    July 8th 2017 / 9:52 PM

    krispy kreme dohnut

  83. natalie smith
    July 9th 2017 / 3:09 PM

    cucumber is a huge favourite in my house

  84. Claire R
    July 9th 2017 / 4:09 PM

    I could eat my weight in cheese so probably that! πŸ™‚

  85. Vicki Weston
    July 9th 2017 / 10:45 PM

    Strawberries

  86. tammy westrup
    July 9th 2017 / 10:56 PM

    Anything chocolate…as I am addicted!

  87. Hannah Wright
    July 10th 2017 / 12:52 AM

    fajitas and pizza – do I really need a reason?!

  88. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    July 10th 2017 / 3:13 PM

    Bread and cake as if I were a caterpillar, I wouldn’t be gluten intolerant so could eat a nice piece of toast and some yummy cake! I wish!

  89. Joanna Ford
    July 10th 2017 / 7:51 PM

    Chocolate fudge cake because it is my favourite!

  90. Fozia
    July 10th 2017 / 9:11 PM

    Lots of cream cakes

  91. Victoria Hemmings
    July 10th 2017 / 10:42 PM

    tomatoes-as they are moist and just sweet enough to eat them over and over again

  92. Tammy Tudor
    July 10th 2017 / 11:44 PM

    spinach leaves

  93. Emily Hutchinson
    July 11th 2017 / 9:59 AM

    pizza! Just because it’s yummy!

  94. paula cheadle
    July 11th 2017 / 2:38 PM

    crisps, cheese and grapes

  95. Pauline Hill
    July 11th 2017 / 3:42 PM

    Strawberries and cream ilove them

  96. MANDY DOHERTY
    July 11th 2017 / 7:59 PM

    Chocolate cake, raspberries and cream

  97. Sheri Darby
    July 11th 2017 / 9:42 PM

    A nice juicy peach

  98. July 12th 2017 / 12:04 AM

    Cheesecake! I’m on slimming world and have been craving it for weeks!

  99. Sophie D
    July 12th 2017 / 10:30 AM

    I’m pregnant atm so pretty much am the very hungry caterpillar anyway XD Strawberries and peanut butter for me, yum!

  100. jacqueline rawlings
    July 12th 2017 / 4:32 PM

    pasta bakes xxx

  101. carol boffey
    July 12th 2017 / 6:24 PM

    chocolate and red wine

  102. katie w
    July 12th 2017 / 8:08 PM

    Chocolate

  103. Monica Gilbert
    July 12th 2017 / 10:56 PM

    We munched through chocolate cake today because it’s my birthday! But I think I’d get a stomachache if I tried it every day.

  104. Lauren Tourle
    July 13th 2017 / 11:48 AM

    Pizza and Macaroni Cheese because they are my 2 favourite things haha πŸ™‚

  105. Jamie Millard
    July 13th 2017 / 1:57 PM

    REALLY LONG BANANAS TO HELP ME GROW REALLY LONG

  106. ruth lee
    July 13th 2017 / 5:38 PM

    strawberries

  107. Allan Fullarton
    July 13th 2017 / 6:32 PM

    i would eat through a nice roast dinner

  108. Cat Williams
    July 13th 2017 / 7:36 PM

    Chocolate cake because it’s yummy

  109. Emma Middleton
    July 13th 2017 / 8:13 PM

    Lots of fruit and veg

  110. Toni Pearson
    July 13th 2017 / 8:29 PM

    a big bowl of mint choc chip icecream

  111. Catherine Barton
    July 13th 2017 / 9:15 PM

    Pizza & garlic bread!

  112. Kerry Smith
    July 13th 2017 / 9:45 PM

    Chocolate just because it’s lovely

  113. caroline kelly
    July 13th 2017 / 9:52 PM

    Chocolate – cos it’s so healthy! lol

  114. Jo W
    July 13th 2017 / 9:58 PM

    Melon and pineapple as my son loves them both

  115. JULIE WARD
    July 13th 2017 / 10:19 PM

    Chicken pakoras, I would soon turn into a butterfly

  116. Kyomi Johnson
    July 13th 2017 / 10:20 PM

    Ice cream definitely has to be

  117. Niki Marie Wardle
    July 13th 2017 / 10:45 PM

    A little bit of all the good stuff! I love food too much to just pick one favourite!

  118. claire little
    July 13th 2017 / 11:24 PM

    strawberries I love them.

  119. Hayley Colburn
    July 13th 2017 / 11:49 PM

    Where to start?? urm, a pepperoni pizza, 2 jam doughnuts, a bag of tangy cheese doritos, a mc chicken sandwich, 8 kfc hot wings, a roast lamb dinner, a mixed kebab and a tub of strawberry carte dor, these are all the foods I have banned myself from though unfortunately lol

  120. Hayley Colburn
    July 13th 2017 / 11:49 PM

    oh and a chicken pathia with fried rice and a keema naan lol

  121. Jeanette Leighton
    July 14th 2017 / 12:33 AM

    Cake because I love it

  122. Katie Skeoch
    July 14th 2017 / 6:33 AM

    Definitely a big plate of pasta my favourite food!

  123. martin rowley
    July 14th 2017 / 7:11 AM

    Melon as it’s delicious.

  124. elaine stokes
    July 14th 2017 / 8:55 AM

    pizza, cake, and ice cream…. naughty but very nice

  125. Stephanie keill
    July 14th 2017 / 9:22 AM

    I’d munch my way through a big plate of spaghetti carbonara because I’m obsessed with Italian food and this is one of my most favourite dishes.

  126. Laura Whittle
    July 14th 2017 / 10:09 AM

    A bar of chocolate because I’m a chocoholic! x

  127. Diana
    July 14th 2017 / 11:03 AM

    Oh, I would munch through meats and cheeses. My favourites ;D

  128. Lara Latchem
    July 14th 2017 / 11:17 AM

    Cherrys as so juicy and delicious

  129. natalee gosiewski
    July 14th 2017 / 11:47 AM

    raspberries they are juicy and yummy

  130. Sam Parkes
    July 14th 2017 / 11:20 AM

    Cheese as I’m a complete cheese-aholic my favourite food ever.

  131. Chirag Patel
    July 14th 2017 / 1:31 PM

    popcorn because you can eat a whole bucketful and not feel guilty !!

  132. Rebecca roberts
    July 14th 2017 / 2:14 PM

    A big fat salmon salad x

  133. Jessica Townley
    July 14th 2017 / 2:39 PM

    Pizza and lots of it! πŸ˜€

  134. Teresa sheldon
    July 14th 2017 / 3:40 PM

    I’d munch my way through an Indian takeaway followed my an eat on mess, id be a very fat caterpillar

  135. Caroline Smith
    July 14th 2017 / 3:52 PM

    I’m a complete chocoholic so chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate!

  136. Simone Griffin
    July 14th 2017 / 4:45 PM

    A juicy pineapple as it’s a summer fruit

  137. Catherine Gregory
    July 14th 2017 / 4:56 PM

    Cheese because I am pregnant with my little boy and it has been my huge craving

  138. Corinne Peat
    July 14th 2017 / 5:22 PM

    Chocolate as it’s my favourite

  139. Kirsty Woods
    July 14th 2017 / 6:03 PM

    Strawberry cheesecake

  140. adelle dornan
    July 14th 2017 / 6:31 PM

    cakes and anything chocolate

  141. Dale Dow
    July 14th 2017 / 6:33 PM

    Cherries, ooooh I do love cherries

  142. Emma
    July 14th 2017 / 8:30 PM

    Cherries. I love them!

  143. Laura Asplin
    July 14th 2017 / 8:50 PM

    Strawberries as they are a tasty healthy treat

  144. Danielle Graves
    July 14th 2017 / 8:51 PM

    granny smith apples as they are crisp, refreshing and delicious

  145. samantha buntain
    July 14th 2017 / 9:50 PM

    Sausage rolls I do love mysacoury food more than anything

  146. Sheena Read
    July 14th 2017 / 10:11 PM

    Lettuce and Cucumber

  147. Lin Martin
    July 14th 2017 / 10:20 PM

    Chocolate cake! Well it’s chocolate cake no more reason needed yum!

  148. Pauline black
    July 14th 2017 / 11:00 PM

    Pizza and beer! Perfect for fattening up a hungry Caterpillar!

  149. Donna W
    July 14th 2017 / 11:30 PM

    Going by what I’ve just eaten, I’d scoff a whole pack of chocolate eclairs!

  150. July 14th 2017 / 11:40 PM

    Olives easy to eat and carry on my caterpillar head !

  151. Emma Topp
    July 14th 2017 / 11:45 PM

    I hate to be predictable but anything chocolate!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.