Seventh Generation Cleaning Hamper Review & Giveaway

For my regular readers it won’t have escaped your notice that I’m somewhat of a clean freak. I love nothing more than a clean and tidy home. I follow a cleaning schedule every week to ensure each room stays in tip-top condition. I always try to be mindful of the environment when it comes to cleaning products too. After receiving a sample of Seventh Generation concentrated natural washing liquid from Blog On they got in touch to ask if I would like to try some more of their range.

Seventh Generation who are based in Vermont, have been formulating plant-based products for over 25 years. The products are hugely popular in America and are now available for sale in the UK at select Tesco stores.

Seventh Generation products are all plant-based, free of dyes, brighteners and synthetic fragrance. They offer powerful effective cleaning whilst remaining kinder on your home and the environment. They offer a line of fragrance free products which are also designed with sensitive skin in mind too.

A lovely hamper of goodies arrived and I couldn’t wait to get cleaning with them. Here’s what I received:

Free & Clear Natural Laundry Detergent 

Free & Clear 4X Concentrated Natural Laundry Detergent 

Lavender Flower & Mint Natural Dish Liquid 

Free & Clear All-Purpose Natural Cleaner 

Emerald Cypress & Fir Natural Toilet Bowl Cleaner 

Free & Clear Glass & Surface Natural Cleaner 

I have been looking to change laundry detergent as Jake’s eczema has been getting worse lately. Knowing that this natural laundry detergent is suitable for sensitive skin gave me peace of mind. After using it our clothes came out just as clean as using my usual detergent. I did miss having a scent on my fresh washing though so I would definitely choose one of Seventh Generation’s naturally scented varieties in the future.

We are a washing up by hand family, I have had the opportunity to own a dishwasher in the past but declined. I prefer the old-fashioned method of soap suds and scrubbing-brush to get my dishes clean. I loved the subtle scent of this natural dish liquid, it made my dishes just as squeaky clean as my usual brand. I was also really impressed at the amount of bubbles and lather it created.

Although I am usually a fan of scented cleaning products it was a nice change to use something that didn’t smell of chemicals in the kitchen. I also really like the size of the all-purpose natural cleaner, this will be used a lot and I’m confident it won’t run out for a quite a few weeks.

The toilet bowl cleaner worked really well. I use a product in the toilet every day and it was nice to feel a little less guilty about the impact this has on the environment.

So far I’ve been really impressed with the quality and effectiveness of all the products I received. I hope to see some more Seventh Generation products become available in the UK soon.

Seventh Generation have kindly agreed to offer one of my readers a hamper of products to try for themselves. You can enter the giveaway using the rafflecopter widget below. Make sure you read the terms and conditions and best of luck with your entry.

Terms & Conditions

    • Open to UK entries only.
    • The Closing date is 27.08.17 11.59pm
    • The prize is a Seventh Generation product hamper. 
    • The winner will be selected at random from all valid entries and contacted by email.
    • The winner has 14 days to respond failure to do so will result in a new winner being selected.
    • Winner must allow 28 working days for delivery of prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure: We were sent the cleaning hamper free for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

77 Comments

  1. Margaret gallagher
    August 4, 2017 / 11:10 pm

    Keep on top of IT
    A bit here and a bit there makes it so much easier

  2. Heather Haigh
    August 5, 2017 / 12:25 pm

    Little and often and train everyone to do a little bit.

  3. Solange
    August 5, 2017 / 11:55 pm

    Use your washing powder as a general cleaner. It really cuts through dirt, grime and grease, very good on shower trays, baths and sinks. Put some down the loo and watch the stains disappear, no need for other high priced cleaners.

  4. Ursula Hunt
    August 6, 2017 / 2:55 pm

    Soak, stained cups and teaspoons in waahing powder, it removes all the tea/coffee stains

  5. Ashleigh Allan
    August 6, 2017 / 3:50 pm

    Keep on top of it so nothing builds up too bad

  6. Tracey Peach
    August 6, 2017 / 4:25 pm

    Do a littel bit every day that way you keep on top of it

  7. Tracy Nixon
    August 6, 2017 / 4:42 pm

    To pick up pet hair, put on a wet rubber dishwashing glove and wipe your hand over surfaces. The hair will stick right to it.

  8. August 6, 2017 / 4:50 pm

    My top tip is get the kids to help….Make cleaning into a game and the work gets done in half the time x

  9. laura banks
    August 6, 2017 / 5:53 pm

    little and often that way you keep on top of it

  10. lynn savage
    August 6, 2017 / 6:01 pm

    Get everybody to help, there are so many things that even the little ones can do to help, use the correct products for the job and it all becomes easier to do.

  11. stuart hargreaves
    August 6, 2017 / 6:12 pm

    clean regularly ie monday kitchen tues bathroom

  12. Ritchie
    August 6, 2017 / 6:16 pm

    Clean blocked plugholes with bicarbonate of soda and vinegar.

  13. Claire glace
    August 6, 2017 / 6:43 pm

    I use vinegar and water, with newspaper to clean the windows, best way ever…

  14. Emma Nixon
    August 6, 2017 / 6:59 pm

    Tidy up as you go along it makes cleaning easier. Nothing worse than having to put things away first!

  15. Fiona King
    August 6, 2017 / 7:02 pm

    Set the alarm a few minutes earlier during the working week so as to do a bit of cleaning each morning before going to work. It will motivate you for the day ahead and prevents chores building up

  16. alison bonsor
    August 6, 2017 / 7:10 pm

    a squeeze of lemon juice over grease before you start cuts straight through it

  17. Sidrah Ahmed
    August 6, 2017 / 7:43 pm

    Use toothpaste to get rid of crayon marks

  18. Amelia Kennedy
    August 6, 2017 / 7:58 pm

    Use white vinegar to deodorise kitchen work tops – also great in the final rinse in the washer instead of fabric conditioner x

  19. Amy Lambert
    August 6, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    Toothpaste will remove pen stains from wood

  20. Becky Yeomans
    August 6, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    Run a bleach hot cycle through the washer every now and again, keeps it not smelling!

  21. Sarah Mackay
    August 6, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    Olive oil to clean stainless steel

  22. Jayne Townson
    August 6, 2017 / 9:40 pm

    My best tip is clean up as you go along so it doesn’t build up. Try and get the whole family to join in too.

  23. iain maciver
    August 6, 2017 / 9:49 pm

    don’t let it get out of control

  24. Stacey Carnell
    August 6, 2017 / 10:20 pm

    Little and often, for example whilst your making a brew and waiting for the kettle to boil….clean the worktops or load the dishwasher

  25. Becky
    August 6, 2017 / 11:36 pm

    My best cleaning tip is little and often. If I do a room per day and then the sweeping and washing up each day rather than putting aside a whole day it’s loads better.

  26. Carol Thomas
    August 6, 2017 / 11:53 pm

    Daily tidying up of the usual, like making the beds, emptying the trash, loading the washer and so on, with a main job each day (weekends are time off from a main job unless there is a good reason) keeps on top of it and easier to manage

  27. Vicki D
    August 7, 2017 / 5:37 am

    Use a window squeegee to remove pet hairs and dust from rugs and carpets

  28. Sue McCarthy
    August 7, 2017 / 6:45 am

    Soak tea stained mugs overnight with a denture cleaning tablet

  29. Joanne Beale
    August 7, 2017 / 8:52 am

    A little baby oil on a cloth cleans stainless steel

  30. Sheena Batey
    August 7, 2017 / 11:51 am

    Use vinegar in the water when washing windows for a smear free shine.

  31. August 7, 2017 / 12:00 pm

    clean the windows with a little bit of vinegar in the water works a treat

  32. Pauline Hill
    August 7, 2017 / 12:00 pm

    clean the windows with a little bit of vinegar in the water works a treat

  33. ADEINNE TONNER
    August 7, 2017 / 2:33 pm

    My cleaning tip is to use newspaper when cleaning the windows so it doesn’t streak

  34. charlotte bell
    August 7, 2017 / 3:03 pm

    My best cleaning tip is to invite your mother round for a ‘cup of tea’ and break out the hoover and cleaning stuff haha!!

  35. Ailsa
    August 7, 2017 / 4:51 pm

    Olive oil and white vinegar for water stains on wood. Wonder cure

  36. Helen Tovell
    August 7, 2017 / 6:06 pm

    Little and often so it doesn’t build up

  37. Andrea Fletcher
    August 7, 2017 / 6:53 pm

    Don’t let it build up and give the kids jobs to do.

  38. Hannah Wood
    August 7, 2017 / 11:11 pm

    Vinegar on taps is very good .

  39. amanda walsh
    August 7, 2017 / 11:35 pm

    I have a cleaning rota, I do a little each day so it doesnt get too much

  40. Jo Carroll
    August 8, 2017 / 10:38 am

    I’ve invested in a steam cleaner. They take a lot of hard work out of scrubbing, use no chemicals and are brilliant to use in areas you’d rather not venture into…like behind the toilet basin 😉

  41. Victoria N
    August 8, 2017 / 9:19 pm

    A lemon in a bowl of water in the microwave for 30 seconds makes it much easier to wipe down

  42. Carole E
    August 8, 2017 / 10:33 pm

    Clean windows with vinegar and then polish them with newspapers

  43. Leila Benhamida
    August 9, 2017 / 12:23 am

    Use a mixture of white vinegar and lemon to clean the toilet.

  44. Iris W
    August 9, 2017 / 8:24 am

    Do a it every day to keep on top of it

  45. katrina adams
    August 9, 2017 / 9:28 am

    Make use of Bicarbonate Soda! Put it in a glass at the back of your fridge stops any whiffy smells. Mix it with water to make a paste and use it to clean your oven or mix with lavender essential oil and sprinkle over your mattress, leave it for an hour and then vacuum off. It leaves the bed smelling wonderful and gives it a good refresh.

  46. August 9, 2017 / 9:33 am

    Best tip…get someone else to do it! I can’t do much cleaning now but I always found it therapeutic and get frustrated that it’s never done the same as I used to do. So, I’d love to be able to clean again, at the moment I try to do a little each day.
    Anne recently posted…The Spray Mop for Floors and WindowsMy Profile

  47. maggie ali
    August 9, 2017 / 10:30 am

    I always clean my kettle with white vinegar, leave it over night and it looks brand new 🙂

  48. Mary H
    August 9, 2017 / 11:26 am

    Look in your food cupboards, vinegar, bicarbonate of soda and lemon all make fantastic cleaners. Don’t throw out your old toothbrush. They’re fantastic for cleaning har to reach nooks like taps.

  49. Bob Clark
    August 9, 2017 / 3:48 pm

    clean a small area and do this every day to keep on top of it

  50. Karen Barrett
    August 9, 2017 / 5:09 pm

    Use dental floss to clean behind cooker knobs

  51. sarah m
    August 9, 2017 / 10:25 pm

    not so much cleaning but washing up liquid works a treat for a blocked toilet!

  52. Amanda Tanner
    August 9, 2017 / 11:11 pm

    Love using pure white vinegar for cleaning white tiles in the house

  53. Kim M
    August 10, 2017 / 10:58 am

    Have a place for everything and clear clutter x

  54. debbie smith
    August 10, 2017 / 11:38 am

    use furniture polish for flies that come in your home it stops them mid flight and no icky fly sprays needed xx also pop an aspirin or two in with whites to make them brighter x

  55. Jemma Dwyer
    August 10, 2017 / 4:19 pm

    don’t let the cleaning pile up do cleaning every day for at least a hour

  56. amy bondoc
    August 10, 2017 / 5:14 pm

    i always use vinegar for cleaning the mirrors in our house, and baking powder on the oven!

  57. Sarah Fielding
    August 10, 2017 / 5:58 pm

    Keep on top of your cleaning so you don’t have to do it all at once!

  58. Abigail Cullen
    August 10, 2017 / 6:44 pm

    A little bit of cleaning, works wonders a day.

  59. John Tingay
    August 10, 2017 / 7:44 pm

    Make your own “power” spray with 1 part multi-purpose cleaner, 1 part white/distilled vinegar and 2 parts water.

  60. Jules Eley
    August 10, 2017 / 8:33 pm

    vinegar neat on windows works a treat

  61. Rebecca Nisbet
    August 10, 2017 / 11:08 pm

    i like to get zoflora run the hot top and drop some down the plug hole. Makes the kitchen smell lovely.

  62. August 11, 2017 / 5:58 pm

    Put ice and salt into any glassware and swish around and it will clean it sparkly new

  63. Emma Salter
    August 11, 2017 / 10:18 pm

    Do little and often so that it doesn’t build up into an unmanageable task.

  64. Kelly Hirst
    August 12, 2017 / 8:11 am

    Use baby or antibacterial wipes to quickly and easily clean round the skirting board

  65. Kelly Mobbs
    August 12, 2017 / 5:30 pm

    Use bicarbonate of soda to get ground on dirt from oven shelves

  66. Annabel Greaves
    August 12, 2017 / 7:33 pm

    I like to concentrate on one room per day so I do not get too overwhelmed

  67. Kerry Taylor
    August 12, 2017 / 8:33 pm

    A place for everything, and everything in its place. It’s so much easier to clean a tidy house!

  68. Averil Lea
    August 13, 2017 / 4:56 pm

    I use bicarbonate of soda for cleaning jobs n the kitchen.

  69. cheryl hadfield
    August 15, 2017 / 10:28 am

    clean and tidy as you go along your daily chores, leaving till later can make bigger mess and more time is then wasted

  70. August 15, 2017 / 4:11 pm

    I try to do put everything in place after I use it, so it looks nicer and it’s easier to clean.

  71. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 15, 2017 / 7:29 pm

    A hard toothbrush with bleach in between the grout tiles and around the taps and fiddly places xXx

  72. Jacki Constantine
    August 15, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    Pay some else to do the cleaning

  73. Stevie
    August 17, 2017 / 10:14 am

    I use a paint brush for the dusting.

  74. Lynn Neal
    August 18, 2017 / 6:21 pm

    Try to do a bit every day and assign some simple jobs to the children!

  75. Mel Turner
    August 18, 2017 / 10:59 pm

    Don’t let it build up

  76. Carole Nott
    August 20, 2017 / 3:36 pm

    Try to let the mess not build up too much and clean as you go

  77. August 21, 2017 / 2:21 pm

    Use tumble drier softener sheets for dusting, they have anti static properties that mean the dust won’t settle so quickly on the clean surfaces

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge