The Very Hungry Caterpillar Craft Kit Review & Giveaway

The kids and I are big fans of The Hungry Caterpillar, in fact the book is one of our regular bedtime stories. When we read it the kids know every single line by heart. I have always loved the stories and characters created by Eric Carle as they were part of my childhood too.

We were recently sent some of The Hungry Caterpillar craft kits by Rainbow Designs to review. The lovely people at Rainbow Designs have also offered us an identical set to giveaway to one of our lovely readers too.

We were sent the Very Hungry Caterpillar Super Dough Caterpillar and the 3D Cardboard Character set. There are also other kits available in The Very Hungry Caterpillar range.

It’s always fun when we get to sit down all together to do some crafts. Most of the time we go freestyle with our crafting sessions but sometimes it’s nice to do some guided activities too.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Super Dough CaterpillarΒ 

Jake and I did the Super Dough Caterpillar together. Upon opening the kit I was immediately impressed with how everything had been packaged and presented. I could tell immediately that this activity had been well thought and made super simple for little hands. The instructions for making the caterpillar are detailed and really easy to follow.

I’m also really impressed that the dough although air-drying is fully re-useable.

Jake loved the texture of the dough he had lots of fun squashing it before we began. With a little help from Mummy he rolled some balls that would make up the caterpillars body. He particularly liked making the little legs and eyes and he could easily use the red tool that is included in the kit.

Once the caterpillar was finished I helped him make a little red apple. He played for a little while pretending to feed the apple to his caterpillar.

Here he is looking super proud of his creation.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar 3D Cardboard Character Kit

I knew Daisy would absolutely love this. She loves crafting and creating and this kit had everything she needed to make some colourful characters.

The kit contains four iconic Eric Carle characters.

I was really impressed that each of the characters came separately wrapped with their own little set of decorations. There are suggestions on the box of how to colour and decorate the characters but the little things included like pom poms and pipe cleaners encourage creative imagination.

The characters are made of really quality thick cardboard and the felt pens included were of really good quality too. I think that’s what I’m most impressed with, the quality of both kits is outstanding.

Daisy chose the caterpillar and Jake chose the Elephant and they both busy with the felts.

 

Both Daisy and Jake loved sticking the colourful pom poms and shapes onto their characters. Daisy was super excited as the kit contained a silver glitter glue, she’s obsessed with the stuff.

As you can see we had lots of fun with both of the kits.Β If you want to win a set of these wonderful products for your kids you can enter the giveaway below. Make sure you read the terms and conditions too. Best of luck with your entry.

Terms & Conditions

  • Open to UK entries only.
  • The Closing date is 14.07.2017.
  • The prize is a Very Hungry Caterpillar 3D Cardboard Character Kit & Super Dough Caterpillar Kit.
  • The winner will be selected at random from all valid entries and contacted by email.
  • The winner has 28 days to respond failure to do so will result in a new winner being selected.
  • There is one mandatory method of entry all other methods are optional.

Rainbow Designs The Very Hungry Caterpillar Craft Kits Giveaway

Disclosure: We received the craft kits free for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

This post contains an affiliate link.

151 Comments

  1. Tracy K Nixon June 23, 2017 / 2:26 pm

    Salad and veg – as I would want to eat healthily so I could transform into a beautiful butterfly!

  2. Spencer Broadley June 23, 2017 / 3:29 pm

    I love my salads but most of all I would have to go for tomatoes

  3. Sue McCarthy June 23, 2017 / 4:04 pm

    Pizza and rose wine – my favourite meal!

  4. Kim Neville June 23, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    Spinach, strawberries and praline chocolate as a nice combination

  5. sarah rees June 23, 2017 / 5:07 pm

    i would eat through a nice roast dinner

  6. Danielle Pooley June 23, 2017 / 5:24 pm

    Would have to be watermelon, I could eat loads of that!

  7. andrea tinkler June 23, 2017 / 5:45 pm

    Oh strawberries, melon and cream…yummy

  8. MARK THOMAS June 23, 2017 / 5:50 pm

    Apples, and bananas . Delicious and good for me .

  9. Lyndsey June 23, 2017 / 5:52 pm

    mushrooms – i love them

  10. Andrea Fletcher June 23, 2017 / 6:53 pm

    Raspberries and cherries.

  11. Jennifer Wlodyka June 23, 2017 / 7:35 pm

    Cupcakes and chocolate

  12. Margaret GALLAGHER June 23, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    Mini quiche cheese strings and the obligatory lettuce with a teeny bit of chocolate

  13. emma walters June 23, 2017 / 8:43 pm

    a mountain of ice cream

  14. Ms Suan Watts June 23, 2017 / 9:25 pm

    Strawberries and raspberries are my favourites

  15. Solange June 23, 2017 / 9:57 pm

    Pizza because I love it.

  16. Anthony Harrington June 23, 2017 / 9:59 pm

    chocolate and cheese because they are my favs!

  17. Catherine McAlinden June 24, 2017 / 7:01 am

    I’d munch through pizza, my favourite food!

  18. Catherine Stewart June 24, 2017 / 10:31 am

    Lots of chocolate!

  19. Ursula Hunt June 24, 2017 / 11:06 am

    I would munch through a raspberry bush, my favourite fruit of all time

  20. Lorna Ledger June 24, 2017 / 11:41 am

    oooh crikey! A big meat feast pizza, because it’s probably my fav! And I could grow bigger from eating it

  21. Lucinda Fortune June 24, 2017 / 7:34 pm

    It would have to be clotted cream and jam scones because the are the yummiest thing ever!

  22. Amie June 24, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    Chocolate and Ben & jerrys ice cream.. I’d be the really fat caterpillar..

  23. Natalie Crossan June 24, 2017 / 11:56 pm

    Chips. I just love chips xx

  24. Ailsa June 25, 2017 / 5:46 am

    Pizza. I could eat it all day

  25. Rachel June 25, 2017 / 8:00 am

    I’d munch through a plate of spaghetti because as a caterpillar that would be a bit like an obstacle course!

  26. Hali Kinson June 25, 2017 / 8:07 am

    I would munch through skips the crisps as they are my fave

  27. Tanya camilleri June 25, 2017 / 10:26 am

    Chocolate cake! Mmm

  28. ashleigh allan June 25, 2017 / 10:46 am

    Chocolate – my favourite food!

  29. STACY SORRELL June 25, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    CHOCOLATE CAKE – who wouldnt πŸ™‚ my absolute fave desert, yummy

  30. Kay Sherman June 26, 2017 / 9:05 pm

    Cookies ice cream and chocolate

  31. Tee Simpson June 26, 2017 / 10:54 pm

    Chocolate cake as its my favourite treat

  32. Louise king June 26, 2017 / 11:34 pm

    Millies cookies and as i would feel guily a nice freah fruit salad with lots of strawberries.

  33. Karen Barrett June 27, 2017 / 5:16 pm

    Mango, it reminds me of Australia

  34. Rachel Butterworth June 27, 2017 / 5:20 pm

    Chocolate. The sugar would give me energy to eat more chocolate.

  35. Sally Collingwood June 28, 2017 / 10:23 am

    Jelly and ice cream because I love it.

  36. Cassandra Mayers June 28, 2017 / 1:21 pm

    A big Bar of chocolate!!! Because I am addicted to chocolate

  37. Tasha June 28, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    A giant bar of chocolate

  38. ELZBIETA ZNYK June 29, 2017 / 7:39 am

    Cheese because is very yummy.

  39. Rebecca Cusick June 29, 2017 / 8:11 am

    A giant bacon lettuce and tomato sandwich because I love a good sandwich!

  40. kimberley ryan June 29, 2017 / 10:20 am

    chocolate, I don’t think as a caterpillar I could still resist a nibble πŸ˜‰

  41. Leila Benhamida June 30, 2017 / 12:35 am

    Yoghurt to keep the good bacteria a life :0)

  42. Helen Humphries June 30, 2017 / 2:05 pm

    Strawberries! Because they are soft, sweet & juicy.

  43. Claire W June 30, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    A nice ripe banana to give me lots of energy πŸ™‚

  44. EJ Dunn July 1, 2017 / 11:42 am

    Hash browns because that’s what I’m craving during my pregnancy!

  45. Lynn Neal July 1, 2017 / 11:33 pm

    I would munch my way through rice cakes because I love them at the moment!

  46. Kim Styles July 2, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    a whole bag of raw peas in the pod because I adore them !

  47. michelle speight July 2, 2017 / 6:22 pm

    pasta as i need it for energy get me thru my night shift lol

  48. Stevie July 3, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    I’d munch on buttercups.

  49. Deborah Mackenzie July 3, 2017 / 5:45 pm

    Pizza! Just cant have enough of it as there are so many different ones to try.

  50. lorraine polley July 3, 2017 / 8:48 pm

    would munch on cheese, love all cheeses, they are yummy, forget the green stuff

  51. Jackie Dawson July 5, 2017 / 4:52 pm

    Would have to be a nice curry! its my guilty pleasure.

  52. Carly Belsey July 5, 2017 / 7:49 pm

    Chocolate and strawberries as they are my two favourite foods. πŸ™‚

  53. Joanne Hutchings July 5, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    Chocolate – because it would make me a very happy caterpillar!

  54. Jemma Dwyer July 5, 2017 / 10:52 pm

    toffee crumble i love it πŸ˜€

  55. Fiona July 6, 2017 / 7:42 pm

    Cheese and crisps. Why not πŸ˜‰

  56. Rachel Craig July 6, 2017 / 7:46 pm

    Apple and other fruits, delicious!

  57. Ashleigh Ryan July 6, 2017 / 8:13 pm

    Gold bars – I’m addicted to them at the moment!

  58. Lucy Major July 6, 2017 / 9:08 pm

    Chocolate!!

  59. Lorraine Tinsley July 6, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    Magnum ice cream lollies

  60. Sidrah Ahmed July 6, 2017 / 10:04 pm

    Chicken pizza its one of my favourite

  61. Sarah Mackay July 6, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    Crumpets as i am addicted to them

  62. Alana Walker July 6, 2017 / 10:16 pm

    Terry’s Chocolate Orange as I simply cannot resist!x

  63. Catia Rodrigues July 6, 2017 / 11:27 pm

    Lime cheesecake…because it’s delicious πŸ™‚

  64. Zoe C July 6, 2017 / 11:40 pm

    Raspberries

  65. Caroline H July 7, 2017 / 12:09 am

    Melon. It is my absolute favourite fruit and when they are in season and the prices are good in the supermarket I go a little mad. I’m not sure half a melon and nothing else for lunch is “nutrionally balanced”!

  66. leanne weir July 7, 2017 / 12:33 am

    Has to be chocolate cake

  67. Becky Yeomans July 7, 2017 / 7:49 am

    Chips! I really really love chips fat or thin I could live off them if I could!

  68. stuart hargreaves July 7, 2017 / 8:06 am

    CHEESECAKE – ESPECIALLY BLUEBERRY

  69. Helen Tovell July 7, 2017 / 10:26 am

    Crisps as they are my favourite naughty nibble

  70. Jo Carroll July 7, 2017 / 11:04 am

    ‘Brussels Sprouts’…as I’m always telling my little man – you have to eat your greens if you want to grow up big and strong…plus I actually really love them πŸ˜‰ x

  71. Karen Early July 7, 2017 / 12:40 pm

    Strawberries and water melon

  72. Heather Hibbert July 7, 2017 / 2:31 pm

    Cherries, they’re the best thing ever

  73. Sarah Rees July 7, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    A nice crispy salad with lots of tomatos

  74. jen jackson July 7, 2017 / 10:50 pm

    cucumber – i love it

  75. Nicki simpson July 8, 2017 / 4:03 am

    A doughnut peach since I am now obsessed eight them

  76. Inga Andersen July 8, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    At this time of the year it would be sweet ripe starwberries, delicious and juicy πŸ™‚

  77. Rebecca Duncan July 8, 2017 / 8:37 pm

    Cheese!!!

  78. Serena Harding July 8, 2017 / 9:30 pm

    Chocolate and pretzels

  79. Jules Eley July 8, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    watermelon because it is just so juicy!

  80. zoe brown July 8, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    krispy kreme dohnut

  81. natalie smith July 9, 2017 / 3:09 pm

    cucumber is a huge favourite in my house

  82. Claire R July 9, 2017 / 4:09 pm

    I could eat my weight in cheese so probably that! πŸ™‚

  83. Vicki Weston July 9, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    Strawberries

  84. tammy westrup July 9, 2017 / 10:56 pm

    Anything chocolate…as I am addicted!

  85. Hannah Wright July 10, 2017 / 12:52 am

    fajitas and pizza – do I really need a reason?!

  86. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog) July 10, 2017 / 3:13 pm

    Bread and cake as if I were a caterpillar, I wouldn’t be gluten intolerant so could eat a nice piece of toast and some yummy cake! I wish!

  87. Joanna Ford July 10, 2017 / 7:51 pm

    Chocolate fudge cake because it is my favourite!

  88. Fozia July 10, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    Lots of cream cakes

  89. Victoria Hemmings July 10, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    tomatoes-as they are moist and just sweet enough to eat them over and over again

  90. Tammy Tudor July 10, 2017 / 11:44 pm

    spinach leaves

  91. Emily Hutchinson July 11, 2017 / 9:59 am

    pizza! Just because it’s yummy!

  92. paula cheadle July 11, 2017 / 2:38 pm

    crisps, cheese and grapes

  93. MANDY DOHERTY July 11, 2017 / 7:59 pm

    Chocolate cake, raspberries and cream

  94. Sheri Darby July 11, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    A nice juicy peach

  95. Robyn Clarke July 12, 2017 / 12:04 am

    Cheesecake! I’m on slimming world and have been craving it for weeks!

  96. Sophie D July 12, 2017 / 10:30 am

    I’m pregnant atm so pretty much am the very hungry caterpillar anyway XD Strawberries and peanut butter for me, yum!

  97. jacqueline rawlings July 12, 2017 / 4:32 pm

    pasta bakes xxx

  98. carol boffey July 12, 2017 / 6:24 pm

    chocolate and red wine

  99. katie w July 12, 2017 / 8:08 pm

    Chocolate

  100. Monica Gilbert July 12, 2017 / 10:56 pm

    We munched through chocolate cake today because it’s my birthday! But I think I’d get a stomachache if I tried it every day.

  101. Lauren Tourle July 13, 2017 / 11:48 am

    Pizza and Macaroni Cheese because they are my 2 favourite things haha πŸ™‚

  102. Jamie Millard July 13, 2017 / 1:57 pm

    REALLY LONG BANANAS TO HELP ME GROW REALLY LONG

  103. ruth lee July 13, 2017 / 5:38 pm

    strawberries

  104. Allan Fullarton July 13, 2017 / 6:32 pm

    i would eat through a nice roast dinner

  105. Cat Williams July 13, 2017 / 7:36 pm

    Chocolate cake because it’s yummy

  106. Emma Middleton July 13, 2017 / 8:13 pm

    Lots of fruit and veg

  107. Toni Pearson July 13, 2017 / 8:29 pm

    a big bowl of mint choc chip icecream

  108. Catherine Barton July 13, 2017 / 9:15 pm

    Pizza & garlic bread!

  109. Kerry Smith July 13, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    Chocolate just because it’s lovely

  110. caroline kelly July 13, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    Chocolate – cos it’s so healthy! lol

  111. Jo W July 13, 2017 / 9:58 pm

    Melon and pineapple as my son loves them both

  112. JULIE WARD July 13, 2017 / 10:19 pm

    Chicken pakoras, I would soon turn into a butterfly

  113. Kyomi Johnson July 13, 2017 / 10:20 pm

    Ice cream definitely has to be

  114. Niki Marie Wardle July 13, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    A little bit of all the good stuff! I love food too much to just pick one favourite!

  115. claire little July 13, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    strawberries I love them.

  116. Hayley Colburn July 13, 2017 / 11:49 pm

    Where to start?? urm, a pepperoni pizza, 2 jam doughnuts, a bag of tangy cheese doritos, a mc chicken sandwich, 8 kfc hot wings, a roast lamb dinner, a mixed kebab and a tub of strawberry carte dor, these are all the foods I have banned myself from though unfortunately lol

  117. Hayley Colburn July 13, 2017 / 11:49 pm

    oh and a chicken pathia with fried rice and a keema naan lol

  118. Jeanette Leighton July 14, 2017 / 12:33 am

    Cake because I love it

  119. Katie Skeoch July 14, 2017 / 6:33 am

    Definitely a big plate of pasta my favourite food!

  120. martin rowley July 14, 2017 / 7:11 am

    Melon as it’s delicious.

  121. elaine stokes July 14, 2017 / 8:55 am

    pizza, cake, and ice cream…. naughty but very nice

  122. Stephanie keill July 14, 2017 / 9:22 am

    I’d munch my way through a big plate of spaghetti carbonara because I’m obsessed with Italian food and this is one of my most favourite dishes.

  123. Laura Whittle July 14, 2017 / 10:09 am

    A bar of chocolate because I’m a chocoholic! x

  124. Diana July 14, 2017 / 11:03 am

    Oh, I would munch through meats and cheeses. My favourites ;D

  125. Lara Latchem July 14, 2017 / 11:17 am

    Cherrys as so juicy and delicious

  126. Sam Parkes July 14, 2017 / 11:20 am

    Cheese as I’m a complete cheese-aholic my favourite food ever.

  127. natalee gosiewski July 14, 2017 / 11:47 am

    raspberries they are juicy and yummy

  128. Chirag Patel July 14, 2017 / 1:31 pm

    popcorn because you can eat a whole bucketful and not feel guilty !!

  129. Rebecca roberts July 14, 2017 / 2:14 pm

    A big fat salmon salad x

  130. Jessica Townley July 14, 2017 / 2:39 pm

    Pizza and lots of it! πŸ˜€

  131. Teresa sheldon July 14, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    I’d munch my way through an Indian takeaway followed my an eat on mess, id be a very fat caterpillar

  132. Caroline Smith July 14, 2017 / 3:52 pm

    I’m a complete chocoholic so chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate!

  133. Simone Griffin July 14, 2017 / 4:45 pm

    A juicy pineapple as it’s a summer fruit

  134. Catherine Gregory July 14, 2017 / 4:56 pm

    Cheese because I am pregnant with my little boy and it has been my huge craving

  135. Corinne Peat July 14, 2017 / 5:22 pm

    Chocolate as it’s my favourite

  136. Kirsty Woods July 14, 2017 / 6:03 pm

    Strawberry cheesecake

  137. adelle dornan July 14, 2017 / 6:31 pm

    cakes and anything chocolate

  138. Dale Dow July 14, 2017 / 6:33 pm

    Cherries, ooooh I do love cherries

  139. Emma July 14, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Cherries. I love them!

  140. Laura Asplin July 14, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    Strawberries as they are a tasty healthy treat

  141. Danielle Graves July 14, 2017 / 8:51 pm

    granny smith apples as they are crisp, refreshing and delicious

  142. samantha buntain July 14, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    Sausage rolls I do love mysacoury food more than anything

  143. Sheena Read July 14, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    Lettuce and Cucumber

  144. Lin Martin July 14, 2017 / 10:20 pm

    Chocolate cake! Well it’s chocolate cake no more reason needed yum!

  145. Pauline black July 14, 2017 / 11:00 pm

    Pizza and beer! Perfect for fattening up a hungry Caterpillar!

  146. Donna W July 14, 2017 / 11:30 pm

    Going by what I’ve just eaten, I’d scoff a whole pack of chocolate eclairs!

  147. Rebecca MacBain July 14, 2017 / 11:40 pm

    Olives easy to eat and carry on my caterpillar head !

  148. Emma Topp July 14, 2017 / 11:45 pm

    I hate to be predictable but anything chocolate!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge