First Act Discovery Ukulele {Review & Giveaway}

When Daisy started the new school term in September she was thrilled to hear that her class would be learning how to play an instrument. Her class is leaning to play keyboards at the moment and she’s loving it. She has always loved music, dancing and clapping along to daddy playing his guitar from a very young age. Daisy has always wanted to follow in her dad’s footsteps by learning the guitar so when a First Act Discovery Ukulele by Jazwares arrived for her to review she was very excited.

The First Act Discovery Ukulele has been specially designed for kids to get that authentic ukulele sound. The guitar-style tuning gears and nylon strings keep the ukulele in tune and sounding great. We have very kindly been given an extra First Act Discovery to giveaway to one of our lucky readers too ! Read our review then enter the giveaway using the gleam app at the end.

First Act kids ukulele black with blue stars

The First Act Discovery Ukulele is available in two designs, Black with blue stars and White with blue butterflies. They both have a traditional soprano-size body which is the perfect size for kids.

The nylon strings are nice and easy for kids to strum, they are soft, flexible and make a nice sound when played.

tuning gears in first act ukulele kids

Daisy couldn’t wait to pick up her new ukulele and learn how to play. Daddy tuned it for her and away she went, strumming the cords and singing along to her own tune. Luckily we have daddy on hand who has been playing guitar for over twenty years, he has been teaching Daisy the basics. She has been getting used to holding the ukulele in the right position and learning all about chords.

Kids can benefit so much from learning to play an instrument, it’s great for improving coordination, memory and perseverance. It also creates a sense of achievement which is fantastic for self-esteem. Learning to play an instrument can seem like a creative pursuit but it’s actually a really good all round learning experience, incorporating maths, reading and comprehension skills too.

girl with kids ukulele

The ukulele is really good quality and very easy for Daisy to hold and play. I love that it looks exactly like an authentic ukulele and not at all toy like.

girl with kids ukulele

girl with glasses smiling holding ukulele

Daisy loves her new ukulele, we will definitely be getting Jake one once he’s a little older too.

What We Loved About The First Act Discovery Ukulele 

  • That the ukulele can be tuned easily
  • The flexible nylon strings
  • The design
  • You get a good quality sound
  • That it’s the perfect size for kids
  • The great value price

The First Act Discovery Ukulele is suitable for ages 6+ and is available to buy from Smyths and other good toy retailers.

If you would like the chance to win a First Act Discovery Ukulele you can enter the giveaway below using the gleam app. Make sure you pop back daily for an extra bonus entry. Have a read the terms and conditions and best of luck with your entry.

Terms & Conditions

  • Entrants must be over 18 years old.
  • Open to UK entries only.
  • The Closing date is 14.11.2018 11.59pm.
  • The prize is a Floof Builder Set & Mr & Mrs Snowman Set as stated above.
  • The winner will be selected at random from all valid entries and contacted by email.
  • The winner has 14 days to respond failure to do so will result in a new winner being selected.
  • Winner must allow 28 working days for delivery of prize.
  • Please read our privacy policy to understand how we use any data we collect.

Win A First Act Discovery Ukulele

Disclosure: We were sent the First Act Discovery Ukulele free for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own. 

85 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    October 24th 2018 / 11:04 AM

    My eldest son is currently learning to play the guitar and my younger son wants to learn to play the drums! My two girls want to play the harp and violin.

  2. iain maciver
    October 24th 2018 / 11:41 AM

    bagpipes love them

  3. Annabel Greaves
    October 24th 2018 / 12:08 PM

    My daughter would love to learn the guitar

  4. Laura Turner
    October 24th 2018 / 2:53 PM

    My nephew would love this. Gorgeous design.

  5. Sue McCarthy
    October 24th 2018 / 5:04 PM

    I don’t have any kids but I’ve wanted to learn to play the trumpet for years!

  6. debbie smith
    October 24th 2018 / 6:27 PM

    the harmonica fab giveaway thankyou

  7. andrea tinkler
    October 24th 2018 / 8:58 PM

    well one is learning guitar and one wants to learn drums!!! Hoping i win this so they learn this instead of the drums lol

  8. Solange
    October 24th 2018 / 11:12 PM

    The piano.

  9. Jo m welsh
    October 25th 2018 / 6:45 AM

    I would like them to learn the piano but they don’t have any interest at the moment

  10. October 25th 2018 / 11:57 PM

    My daughter wants to learn piano at the moment.

  11. Ursula Hunt
    October 26th 2018 / 10:16 AM

    My granddaughter wants to learn to play the guitar

  12. Anthony Harrington
    October 26th 2018 / 11:02 AM

    I would like my little Grandson to play the guitar

  13. Sarah Summers
    October 26th 2018 / 7:06 PM

    My kids want to play the drums

  14. Debbie Birchall
    October 26th 2018 / 7:35 PM

    My sons both play the piano but have said they would love to try the ukulele – I love Eddie Vedder’s ukulele album and listen to it a lot so this may have influenced them!

  15. Kim Neville
    October 27th 2018 / 9:18 AM

    My son would like to learn to play the piano

  16. Clare Hubbard
    October 27th 2018 / 1:29 PM

    I would love for my son to learn he piano

  17. Lorna Ledger
    October 27th 2018 / 5:15 PM

    Love for my Niece and Nephew, who are very creative – thanks for the chance

  18. Geri Gregg
    October 27th 2018 / 8:06 PM

    My son would love to learn the flute x

  19. Katie
    October 28th 2018 / 1:58 PM

    I am entering for my niece who is desperate to play the guitar. This would be a perfect starting point for her.

  20. Chris Andrews
    October 28th 2018 / 2:05 PM

    What musical instrument would your kids like to learn to play ? . . . .the air guitar . . . it MAY be quiter

  21. Susan B
    October 28th 2018 / 4:29 PM

    The eldest is very keen to learn the guitar and is saving up to buy one.

  22. ADEINNE TONNER
    October 28th 2018 / 6:44 PM

    They really want to learn to play the drums

  23. Jessica W
    October 28th 2018 / 6:49 PM

    Drums! Something about the drums that appeals to children

  24. Angela treadway
    October 28th 2018 / 10:41 PM

    keyboard x

  25. Rachel Frances
    October 29th 2018 / 5:59 AM

    my kid would love this

  26. Christina Palmer
    October 29th 2018 / 10:49 AM

    I would love to earn to. Pay the piano or electric guitar

  27. Carrie-Anne Brown
    October 29th 2018 / 3:19 PM

    I would love my little boy to be into drumming

  28. Angela Sharp
    October 29th 2018 / 7:58 PM

    My daughter would love to learn an instrument, this would be perfect for her

  29. Rachel Butterworth
    October 29th 2018 / 8:53 PM

    The drums.

  30. Samantha O'D
    October 29th 2018 / 9:27 PM

    The drums but that will never happen,

  31. Ruth Harwood
    October 30th 2018 / 9:03 AM

    My son wants to play the saxaphone!

  32. Jade Hewlett
    October 30th 2018 / 9:29 AM

    The drums

  33. Sandra Fortune
    October 30th 2018 / 12:14 PM

    My grandson wants to learn guitar and piano

  34. Margaret GALLAGHER
    November 1st 2018 / 8:29 PM

    Guitar – the boys are taking lessons at the moment

  35. Piano
    November 3rd 2018 / 4:07 PM

    Piano

  36. rebecca smith
    November 4th 2018 / 2:40 PM

    my daughter would love to learn to play the piano

  37. Elaine Skye Clark
    November 5th 2018 / 2:50 PM

    My grandson wants to play the guitar…

  38. November 5th 2018 / 9:13 PM

    Both of my girls would love to learn to play the drums. I’m not so keen. hehehe

  39. Cez
    November 8th 2018 / 2:59 PM

    The violin.
    I started learning but gave it up and I’ve always regretted it

  40. Troy Easton
    November 10th 2018 / 5:03 PM

    playing piano.

  41. Claire Elizabeth Noke
    November 10th 2018 / 6:58 PM

    My son asked me if he could start quitar lessons last week 🙂

  42. JULIE WARD
    November 10th 2018 / 11:42 PM

    Grandson has just started trying the guitar at school, hope he keeps at it

  43. T Brailey
    November 11th 2018 / 4:51 AM

    Started to learn recorder and now going on to the guitar.

  44. Allan Wilson
    November 11th 2018 / 8:04 AM

    Brass all the way.

  45. Allan Fullarton
    November 11th 2018 / 5:20 PM

    The Piano

  46. Sheri Darby
    November 11th 2018 / 8:29 PM

    My sons want to play guitar

  47. Amy Denney
    November 11th 2018 / 9:57 PM

    My daughter would like to learn to play the piano

  48. Jayne Townson
    November 12th 2018 / 9:53 AM

    My daughter wants to learn to play the ukulele, so this prize would be perfect, thanks.

  49. Kelly Knowles
    November 12th 2018 / 10:00 AM

    My four are very musical, we have a violin and guitar so far, and the other two tjink piano and guitar too, would love to win one to help one of they younger learn too

  50. Kelly Hirst
    November 12th 2018 / 9:20 PM

    My daughter would love to learn how to play the piano

  51. Laura Pyper
    November 12th 2018 / 10:25 PM

    The piano

  52. Anna Sherratt
    November 12th 2018 / 11:23 PM

    My son would love this for Christmas

  53. Michelle Ferguson
    November 13th 2018 / 5:31 AM

    My nephew is learning to play the trumpet

  54. kayleigh Robinson
    November 13th 2018 / 5:52 AM

    My daughter bought a keyboard with birthday money and she’s been playing on it non stop! She’s also asked for a ukulele and a flute for Xmas.

  55. Rebecca Whatmore
    November 13th 2018 / 5:59 AM

    Piano is always a good one to learn then you can pick up other instruments quite easily

  56. donna l jones
    November 13th 2018 / 11:54 AM

    primrose would love to play the piano

  57. Adrian Clarke
    November 13th 2018 / 1:42 PM

    My twin girls would love to play an electronic keyboard.

  58. claire davey
    November 13th 2018 / 6:17 PM

    my son love to learn to play a guitar as good as his dad

  59. janine atkin
    November 13th 2018 / 7:41 PM

    mine is learning the guitar

  60. Pauline Burroughs
    November 13th 2018 / 8:16 PM

    My granddaughter wants to learn to play the guitar

  61. MANDY DOHERTY
    November 13th 2018 / 9:01 PM

    My grandson would liked to learn how to play the guitar

  62. Lucy Carter
    November 13th 2018 / 10:28 PM

    My son plays the keyboard but my daughter wants to learn the ukelele

  63. Tee Simpson
    November 13th 2018 / 10:44 PM

    The keyboard

  64. Kirsteen Mackay
    November 13th 2018 / 10:54 PM

    My son loves playing the tin whistle and would like to learn the bagpipes or any other instrument.

  65. Adrian Bold
    November 14th 2018 / 3:37 AM

    My nephew would love to learn the guitar.

  66. Geoff Hibbert
    November 14th 2018 / 5:55 AM

    The saxophone

  67. Rachael Sexey
    November 14th 2018 / 6:41 AM

    The piano

  68. Deborah Clarke
    November 14th 2018 / 7:34 AM

    My little grandson wants to play the drums. Thanks for the chance to be your lucky winner

  69. Vickie Jackson
    November 14th 2018 / 7:47 AM

    Both mine want to learn drums at the moment!

  70. Catherine Bullas
    November 14th 2018 / 8:20 AM

    Piano and guitar.

  71. Danielle Pooley
    November 14th 2018 / 10:20 AM

    My little boy wants to play the guitar

  72. Lyndsey Cooksey
    November 14th 2018 / 10:21 AM

    My daughter has just started to learn the clarinet, she’s getting really good!

  73. Lucinda
    November 14th 2018 / 10:30 AM

    the banjo!!!

  74. paula cheadle
    November 14th 2018 / 10:45 AM

    my eldest granddaughter would love to play the guitar

  75. Jeanette Leighton
    November 14th 2018 / 12:32 PM

    My daughter Sheriah plays violin in school shes not that bothered about it though

  76. Kerry H
    November 14th 2018 / 12:57 PM

    Honestly my son has been inspired by his grandparents and would love to play the ukulele. His granny goes to ukulele classes each week after choir and his grandad is self-taught!

  77. Teresa sheldon
    November 14th 2018 / 1:12 PM

    I’d love them to have an interest in any musical instrument, I wish I had learnt when I was young to play something like the piano or guitar so I’m goi g to encourage them as much as possible so they don’t have regrets

  78. irene gilmour
    November 14th 2018 / 2:59 PM

    daughter wants to play the guitar

  79. A.E. ADKINS
    November 14th 2018 / 5:01 PM

    The boys want to play the drums and the guitar, their older brother played the steelpans for a year & loved them.

  80. Laura Findlay
    November 14th 2018 / 8:47 PM

    My children would love to learn the guitar. They love music and instruments x

  81. linda curtis
    November 14th 2018 / 8:50 PM

    my grandson would love one of these
    he loves playing instuments and singing along

  82. Emma Middleton
    November 14th 2018 / 9:01 PM

    My little boy is only 14 months old but loves playing his piano so that may be something I peruse in the future

  83. Tammy Neal
    November 14th 2018 / 10:34 PM

    The piano x

  84. natalie Crossan
    November 14th 2018 / 10:46 PM

    my daughter would love to learn guitar and currently plays harmonica

  85. Natalie Gillham
    November 14th 2018 / 11:03 PM

    My daughters are great singers and want to learn to play the guitar and piano so they can accompany each other xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.