Thriva Baseline Home Blood Test Kit {Review & Giveaway}

This year improving my health has been a top priority for me. Thriva recently got in touch to ask if I would like to test one of their home health blood test kits. They also very kindly offered an extra test to give away to one of my readers, make sure you read until the end to find out how to enter the giveaway.

As a Type 2 diabetic I regularly have my blood checked as I’m at an increased risk of heart disease, stroke and a number of other conditions. With Thriva I was able to perform a quick finger prick test, send of the sample and receive my results within 48 hours. No having to wait for an appointment or visit the doctors.

Thriva 

Founded in 2016, Thriva offer a subscription based service that’s all about preventative healthcare. There are three different subscription packages to choose from, Essential, Baseline and Advanced. Thriva also offer Thyroid testing too. You can choose how often you want to be sent a test and are free to cancel at anytime.

How It Works

Once you receive your package you do a simple finger-prick test from the comfort of your home. Post the sample off then wait for your results which you will arrive within 48 hours. Thriva use accredited labs and methods to test your blood the same as the NHS do. Your results are always reviewed by a UK qualified doctor too.

My Experience 

I was sent the Baseline kit which checks your cholesterol, liver function, Iron profile, B12 (total) and Vitamin D. This normally costs £49 but if you use the discount code WEBSTERLAND you can get 50% off your first Baseline or Advanced kit. The kit arrived with everything I needed to perform the test, it includes:

Collection tube

Alcohol swab

Lancet x 3 

Cleaning wipe

Collection tube label

Protective plastic wallet

Return form & pre-paid mailer

Inside the kit I also found an instruction leaflet with simple and clear instructions to follow. There is also a tips video you can watch that I found really helpful too.

I waited until first thing in the morning to take the test as it’s suggested that you fast for at least 8 hours before collecting your sample.

Pricking my finger was easy using the lancet and relatively painless. I then filled the collection tube to the required line and popped the lid back on. My blood flowed easily enough to fill the tube but there are spare lancets should you need to prick your finger again.

I filled in my information on the collection tube label and stuck it around the tube, then I secured it in the protective plastic wallet provided.

Collecting your sample should be done between Monday and Friday and posted the same day. I sent my sample off on Tuesday morning and received a text to say they had been received the following morning. My results were ready by Wednesday afternoon which is super impressive.

I logged into my dashboard to find really detailed but easy to understand results. The doctor had explained my results in a way that I could understand and provided suggestions about the areas I needed to improve. The results also confirmed that my vitamin D and B12 levels were slightly low which is something I already suspected. I also need to reduce my cholesterol but there were some really good ideas included in my results to help me achieve this.

I really like the idea of being able to test my blood at home and get the results really quickly. This service is something I would definitely use again if I had a health concern or just wanted a check up. It’s given me the motivation to get on with reducing my cholesterol through diet and exercise and making the necessary lifestyle changes to get myself back to optimum health.

If you would like win a Baseline kit for yourself then you can enter the giveaway below using the gleam app. Make sure you pop back daily for an extra bonus entry. Have a read the terms and conditions and best of luck with your entry.

Terms & Conditions

  • Entrants must be over 18 years old.
  • Open to UK entries only.
  • The Closing date is 04.09.2018 11.59pm.
  • The prize is a Thriva Baseline kit as stated above.
  • The winner will be selected at random from all valid entries and contacted by email.
  • The winner has 14 days to respond failure to do so will result in a new winner being selected.
  • Winner must allow 28 working days for delivery of prize.
  • Please read our privacy policy to understand how we use any data we collect.

Win a Thriva Baseline Home Blood Test Kit

Disclosure: I was sent the Thriva Baseline kit free of charge for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Shares

67 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    August 14th 2018 / 1:52 PM

    Yes, I would defo prefer to test at home as it is so hard to get a docs appointment these days, and then I usually have to go up to our local hospital to get my bloods taken!

  2. Solange
    August 14th 2018 / 3:15 PM

    I think they’re a great idea. I would definitely prefer to do a blood test myself rather than visit the GP.

  3. Stephanie Coals
    August 14th 2018 / 6:10 PM

    Would be so much more convenient to be able to do it yourself and it would mean that you don’t have to go through all the stress of trying to get an appointment.

  4. Sheila McKenna
    August 15th 2018 / 12:02 PM

    No way ..doctors any day

  5. Lorna Ledger
    August 15th 2018 / 12:39 PM

    Myself, keep it very private

  6. Pam Francis Gregory
    August 15th 2018 / 12:50 PM

    Great idea to prevent GP visit!

  7. Debbie
    August 16th 2018 / 1:58 PM

    I think it is a great idea for busy people that dont have time to fight for a drs appointment!

  8. S Kerry
    August 17th 2018 / 5:39 PM

    sounds like a good idea, may save a trip to the GP

  9. August 18th 2018 / 4:33 PM

    It’s so difficult to get an appointment that I can definitely see the appeal!

  10. Kim Neville
    August 19th 2018 / 8:44 AM

    A great idea to be able to do at home and get quick results

  11. stacey turner
    August 19th 2018 / 4:29 PM

    I think they are a great idea, and free up time for doctors too

  12. john prendergast
    August 20th 2018 / 10:43 PM

    great idea to do it at home

  13. Tina H
    August 21st 2018 / 1:32 PM

    This is a great idea. I have to keep a close eye on my iron levels and I’d love to know if I’m deficient in anything.

  14. Michelle Ferguson
    August 22nd 2018 / 1:09 PM

    I Like the idea of doing it at home as tend to get panicky at the doctors.

  15. Rachel Butterworth
    August 22nd 2018 / 4:38 PM

    I think they’re a good idea. Time saving for both you and your GP.

  16. Rachael Sexey
    August 23rd 2018 / 6:45 AM

    I think this is a brill idea especially as you can never get a doctors appointment

  17. jules Eley
    August 23rd 2018 / 9:38 PM

    I think it is an interesting idea, I would love to give this a try!

  18. Charlotte G
    August 23rd 2018 / 11:38 PM

    I think it’s a good idea, a lot quicker than waiting for a doctors appointment which is often very hard to get

  19. Alice Gilkes
    August 24th 2018 / 12:11 AM

    I have never used one before, but it does sound interesting. I think I would prefer to do it myself.

  20. Angela Treadway
    August 24th 2018 / 2:10 AM

    yeah i think its a good idea for certain things x

  21. Ruth Harwood
    August 24th 2018 / 10:48 AM

    would be great to do this by myself x

  22. jo liddement
    August 24th 2018 / 7:56 PM

    I think this is a great way to have a check up and diagnosis. It takes around two weeks to get an appointment to see a doctor, where i live, so this kit is idea.

  23. melanie stirling
    August 24th 2018 / 10:20 PM

    I would love to be able to do them myself as I find it very difficult to get out.

  24. Victoria Prince
    August 25th 2018 / 4:53 PM

    I really like the idea of home blood test kits, as long as they are accurate! I’d always prefer to be able to do it myself rather than visit the GP – less hassle!

  25. Sophie Roberts
    August 26th 2018 / 1:12 PM

    I think they’re a great idea! It would be so much easier than trying to get an appointment with my GP

  26. Kim Murray
    August 26th 2018 / 2:57 PM

    Prefer at home – so hard to even get an app at the doctors – would feel more in charge of my health x

  27. LOUISE HEATON
    August 27th 2018 / 2:57 AM

    A great idea to save appointments and long queues at hospitals/doctors for tests

  28. Amandeep Sibia
    August 27th 2018 / 10:45 AM

    Obviously it’s best to see the GP. However, if tests like this are simple to use and can help take the pressure off GPs, it’s a positive step.

  29. Craig Havery
    August 27th 2018 / 12:11 PM

    prefer home takes too long to get dr.s appointment

  30. Sarah Cooper
    August 27th 2018 / 2:38 PM

    Great idea for a more detailed blood test.

  31. christine szlobodnik
    August 28th 2018 / 1:36 AM

    It’s a brilliant idea to do it yourself at home!

  32. Jo m welsh
    August 28th 2018 / 7:15 AM

    I would prefer to do it at home it’s much easier.

  33. William Gould
    August 28th 2018 / 8:00 AM

    I’ve never thought about having this done before, and I would much prefer to do it at home!

  34. Allan Wilson
    August 28th 2018 / 8:46 AM

    It’s much more proactive, we only tend to use the NHS when we are reactive.

  35. Carrie Turner
    August 28th 2018 / 10:05 PM

    Fascinating. And excellent value too. It’s a shame the NHS is so stretched that it cannot offer these tests as routine but if this gives someone piece of mind then that’s good.

  36. kayleigh Robinson
    August 29th 2018 / 7:30 PM

    I think these are a fantastic idea! I think it would be super helpful and beneficial to my health to have the tests and learn from the results. I think it would give me an insight into how my health is and if I need to make any changes. I would much prefer to do it this way rather than wait for an appointment with my doctor!

  37. Emma Walton
    August 30th 2018 / 8:34 AM

    As with everything in life, these tests have their advantages and disadvantages. The disadvantage is the cost. In this country we are very proviledged to have the NHS which means we can go to our GP and request a blood test free of charge. The advantage to these tests is that we may want a blood test that our GP doesn’t think is necessary. Also, not everyone can get to their GP for an appointment due to work commitments etc so these tests would be pefect for them as they can do them in the comfort of their own home at a time that is most convenient to them.

  38. Carole Nott
    September 1st 2018 / 5:49 PM

    This looks like an excellent idea – would love to try the product as it would be so easy

  39. Sheila Reeves @cakereev
    September 1st 2018 / 5:59 PM

    Would love to be able to do blood tests at home, have sometimes had to fast then no geot an appointment until later in the morning so very hungry!

  40. Tanya K
    September 1st 2018 / 6:09 PM

    Thats so useful! Thank you for the detailed information.

  41. Caron Twyman
    September 2nd 2018 / 4:10 PM

    Yes, I hate visiting my GP (that’s if I can even get past the receptionist, who just gives me a nurse appointment).

  42. Anthea Holloway
    September 2nd 2018 / 7:30 PM

    It is certainly more convenient than visiting a GP.

  43. claire griffiths
    September 3rd 2018 / 10:07 AM

    i think it is a fantastic idea as its so hard to get a suitab le appointment at the gps now a days

  44. donna l jones
    September 3rd 2018 / 12:05 PM

    great idea not having to go gp

  45. Clare Davies
    September 3rd 2018 / 2:47 PM

    more convenient and easier to do it at home i think

  46. Rebecca Whatmore
    September 3rd 2018 / 3:43 PM

    This is such a good idea. Would be so useful rather than having to wait weeks to get an appointment at doctor’s surgery.

  47. Allan Fullarton
    September 3rd 2018 / 4:57 PM

    Great technology.

  48. looly
    September 3rd 2018 / 5:00 PM

    it seems so easy to do. i am a bit of a wimp when it comes to blood so i think this maybe a better way to check a few things.

  49. Sandra Fortune
    September 3rd 2018 / 6:17 PM

    Yes it’s a good idea to do one at home saves you having to wait for a docs appointment they take too long

  50. Tracy B
    September 3rd 2018 / 6:55 PM

    Sounds like a great idea. You can increase your own mineral/vitamin intake without the Dr if needed so saves time and waits for appointments

  51. September 3rd 2018 / 8:29 PM

    I think this is great, I’m a mum of three and it’s just so difficult to even find the time to attend a Dr’s appointment (let a lone try and get one in the first place!)

  52. Sylvia Paul
    September 3rd 2018 / 10:00 PM

    I hate visiting the drs so I would be a lot happier doing it myself at home x

  53. Natalie Gillham
    September 4th 2018 / 12:27 AM

    I think it’s a great idea, I have difficulty going out and often do not have blood tests because of this so this would be ideal for me x

  54. paula cheadle
    September 4th 2018 / 6:22 AM

    I think that it could be a great idea to do this test, then if there is something wrong you then can go to your GP

  55. joanne casey
    September 4th 2018 / 6:56 AM

    I think these are a brilliant idea, saves messing around getting a gp appointment unless it’s necessary

  56. Geoff Hibbert
    September 4th 2018 / 7:01 AM

    Do it yourself is much more convenient

  57. Fellina Judson
    September 4th 2018 / 9:26 AM

    This would be fab!

  58. Maria Jane Knight
    September 4th 2018 / 9:41 AM

    I think they are a fabulous idea….getting a Drs appointment isnt always the easiest thing to do at my surgery.

  59. Dawn Underwood
    September 4th 2018 / 11:16 AM

    Much more convenient at home

  60. vicki hennie
    September 4th 2018 / 1:58 PM

    Definitely more convenient to do it myself at home especially as juggling work and children is enough without having to go to the GP

  61. Dean T
    September 4th 2018 / 4:39 PM

    Nothing worse than waiting around in the GP surgery, these seem a fab idea

  62. Natalie Crossan
    September 4th 2018 / 8:21 PM

    this is an excellent idea – would save so much time x

  63. kate m jones
    September 4th 2018 / 8:56 PM

    I think for a busy working person an at home test kit is much more convenient to be honest! Fits in with my schedule which is pretty perfect really!

  64. Laura Findlay
    September 4th 2018 / 9:37 PM

    I think it’s a great idea for those who have a busy lifestyle x

  65. joanne cox
    September 4th 2018 / 10:28 PM

    This would be great! I’m a busy mum!

  66. Rachel Craig
    September 4th 2018 / 10:42 PM

    No experience of home blood testing as yet. Seeing the results of own tests may have more of an impact. As seeing the results for self, rather than maybe being doubtful :- Thinking can’t be true. Maybe there was a mistake/ error made at some point in the process, etc.

  67. Tracey S Anderson
    September 4th 2018 / 11:22 PM

    As an ex phlebotomist i think this is a fabulous idea. The amount of patients including myself who found that making a Drs appointment to suit their busy lifestyles, near on impossible, so this is just fabulous for getting quick results!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.