Words & Pictures Preschool Books {Review & Giveaway}

Disclosure: We were sent the Words & Pictures Books free for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own. See our disclosure policy for more information.

It’s never too early to introduce babies and toddlers to books, in fact, the earlier you do the better. Reading books to your baby provides perfect one-to-one time, the sound of your voice and the warmth from your body reinforces that reading is a pleasurable activity. Books are also amazing developmental tools for your baby too, they encourage hand-eye coordination, offer tactile and sensory opportunities and build cognitive skills to name a few.

Words & Pictures have a new range of beautiful, colourful board books published by Quarto, designed especially for preschoolers to discover and explore the world around them. We were sent a lovely bundle of books to review and we also have a set to giveaway to our readers.

Words & Pictures Preschool Board Books

Tales From Nature

Brand new to the Tales From Nature series are Bee and Ladybird. The bright and colourful illustrations perfectly introduce little ones to nature.

Ladybird by Magali Attiogbe

This colourful tale follows the journey of Ladybird through the garden. Simple text introduces us to the ladybird, what they like to eat, why gardeners love them and even asks you the reader where you think they should lay their eggs. I love that this book is teaching children snippets of nature facts in a fun and imaginative way.

Through windows and flaps, little ones can guess what is going to happen next in the story.  The thick pages are also perfect for little hands to turn.

Bee by Magali Attiogbe

In this book, we follow the Bee as it goes about its day looking for flowers to collect nectar from. We learn all about the beehive, how it’s protected and where the queen bee lays her eggs. I love the illustrations in this book, the colours are beautiful and the characters are fun, I especially love the illustrators’ use of different facial expression on the bees in the hive.

Peep Through First Concepts

First Word by Jane Ormes

First Words is the ideal book to introduce early learning, it encourages vocabulary using objects and animals from everyday life. The illustrations are bold and colourful and are accompanied by simple text. There’s a little peep through hole on each page which adds an extra dimension.  The pages are sturdy and thick which is an essential feature of board books in my opinion.

Count 1 2 3 by Jane Ormes

Count 1 2 3 introduces little ones to numbers and counting using animals and the natural world. I think the illustrations in the book are just adorable, I especially loved the animal characters. This is a great interactive book, perfect for sharing together.

First Concept Bath Books 

Shapes and Colours by Ana Seixas

With bold graphics and bright colours, these fun bath books are a brilliant way to introduce first concepts to your little ones. I love the fun graphics in these books and how tactile, super soft and squishy they are.

What We Loved About Words & Pictures Books

  • The benefits of learning indicated on the back of the books
  • The bright colourful illustrations
  • The quality and durability of the books
  • Fun characters and images
  • The flaps and peep through holes
  • The sensory aspects of the pages

If you would like to win a gorgeous bundle of Words & Pictures books you can enter the giveaway below using the gleam app. Make sure you come back daily for an extra bonus entry. Have a read the terms and conditions and good luck with your entry.

Terms & Conditions

  • Entrants must be over 18 years old.
  • Open to UK entries only.
  • The Closing date is 08.07.2019 11.59pm.
  • The prize is a bundle of Words & Pictures board books.
  • The winner will be selected at random from all valid entries and contacted by email.
  • The winner has 14 days to respond failure to do so will result in a new winner being selected.
  • Winner must allow 28 working days for delivery of the prize.
  • Please read our privacy policy to understand how we use any data we collect.

Win a Bundle of Words & Pictures Board Books

44 Comments

  1. Rebecca Cusick
    June 17th 2019 / 3:42 PM

    We love The Tiger Who Came To Tea!

  2. Margaret Clarkson
    June 17th 2019 / 5:03 PM

    Each peach pear plum

  3. Margaret GALLAGHER
    June 17th 2019 / 6:13 PM

    We have a PERSONALISED bedtime book –

  4. Solange
    June 17th 2019 / 10:41 PM

    The Gruffalo.

  5. Kim Neville
    June 18th 2019 / 3:10 PM

    Pip and Posy and the scooter

  6. iain maciver
    June 18th 2019 / 3:37 PM

    the gruffalo

  7. Gemma Hendry
    June 18th 2019 / 7:05 PM

    my daughter loves snow white book

  8. Sally Collingwood
    June 18th 2019 / 10:07 PM

    The Tiger who came to tea is our favourite

  9. Natalie Burgess
    June 19th 2019 / 10:36 AM

    The three little pigs xx

  10. Ursula Hunt
    June 19th 2019 / 4:56 PM

    We like I Love You This Much

  11. Rachel Butterworth
    June 21st 2019 / 4:01 PM

    That’s Not My…. series by Usbourne.

  12. Angela Muir
    June 27th 2019 / 3:53 PM

    Peter Rabbit

  13. Meg Gaskell
    June 27th 2019 / 10:05 PM

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton is great for the 4 year old. Great competition thanks for the chance to win these books for the new baby due in August.

  14. Rebecca Nisbet
    June 29th 2019 / 9:19 PM

    my daughter loves Alice in Wonderland

  15. Rosemary Tily
    June 30th 2019 / 8:01 PM

    The Little Prince

  16. JULIE WARD
    July 1st 2019 / 7:54 PM

    Any Thomas Tank books with grandson

  17. Rebecca Whatmore
    July 4th 2019 / 8:23 PM

    3 little pigs. These books look great, lovely and bright and colourful.

  18. July 6th 2019 / 9:33 AM

    My daughter loves the Pip and Posy books.

  19. Joanne Matthews
    July 7th 2019 / 3:43 PM

    My three year sold son loves The Ugly Duckling, we read it together at least once a week!

  20. donna large
    July 7th 2019 / 6:55 PM

    Peter Rabbit

  21. Jade Jones
    July 7th 2019 / 9:53 PM

    I have a limited edition collection of Peter Rabbit books which I received a s a gift in 93 as a baby myself aged 2 and I read those with my stepdaughters and soon will red them to my own daughter when she is born… this set would be fantastic for helping her to develop her knowledge and vocabulary as she grows

  22. Adrian Bold
    July 8th 2019 / 1:27 AM

    The Gruffalo and The Stick Man

  23. Carly Belsey
    July 8th 2019 / 5:16 AM

    My daughter loves the Julia Donaldson books at the moment so we are reading Good Witch, Bad Witch and The Skipping Rope Snake amongst others

  24. Carol Boffey
    July 8th 2019 / 8:29 AM

    the gruffalo

  25. Janet Roberts
    July 8th 2019 / 12:10 PM

    Mog the forgetful cat

  26. paula cheadle
    July 8th 2019 / 12:23 PM

    at the moment little one loves the BFG

  27. sandy lynn ralph
    July 8th 2019 / 12:49 PM

    my baby grandson likes the pepper pig books

  28. Helen Craigs
    July 8th 2019 / 12:51 PM

    Rabbits Don’t Lay Eggs by Paula Metcalf is the book my grandson doesn’t tire of and is definitely the most requested!

  29. Danielle Pooley
    July 8th 2019 / 4:02 PM

    We’re all going on a bear hunt

  30. Natalee Gosiewski
    July 8th 2019 / 4:25 PM

    room on a broom there is one in each grandparents house all the grand kids have gone made for it each of my kids have there own copy

  31. Sue Carter
    July 8th 2019 / 5:43 PM

    The very hungry caterpillar is always a favourite along with the that’s not my series.

  32. Felicity Kelly
    July 8th 2019 / 6:24 PM

    The very hungry caterpillar- a timeless classic!

  33. Bex Allum
    July 8th 2019 / 7:05 PM

    Stickman! My girls love it.

  34. Samantha O'D
    July 8th 2019 / 7:33 PM

    The dinosaur that pooped a planet

  35. laura stewart
    July 8th 2019 / 7:58 PM

    The very hungry caterpillar

  36. Troy Easton
    July 8th 2019 / 8:40 PM

    Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory .

  37. Thomas Perry
    July 8th 2019 / 8:50 PM

    The tiger who came to tea

  38. Caroline Blaza
    July 8th 2019 / 9:24 PM

    The very hungry caterpillar is fave in our house at the moment

  39. Richard Saunders
    July 8th 2019 / 9:29 PM

    My boy loves ‘Mad about Minibeast’

  40. July 8th 2019 / 9:35 PM

    The boys are currently loving Zog!

  41. Hannah Scudder
    July 8th 2019 / 9:52 PM

    I love so many children’s books but a firm favourite here has been Dear Zoo.

  42. chris bull
    July 8th 2019 / 9:59 PM

    No! No! Charlie Rascal by Lorna Kent

  43. Jeanette Leighton
    July 8th 2019 / 10:52 PM

    The gruffalo is one of my children’s favourite books

  44. MANDY DOHERTY
    July 8th 2019 / 11:43 PM

    A Squash and A Squeeze

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.